With the start of a new school year and a renewed focus on school bus safety, today the Kentucky Department of Education announced the winners of its annual school bus safety poster contest. The theme for the 2015 contest was Bully Free Zone!

The posters were judged at the local district level and the first place winner of each category was then judged at the Kentucky Association for Pupil Transportation and Student Transportation Association of Kentucky conferences.

The winners are:

  • Division 1 – Gabriella Rivera, 2nd Grade, Mary Todd Elementary School, Lexington, Ky.
  • Division 2 – Calli Lykins, 4th Grade, Lewis County Central Elementary, Vanceburg, Ky.
  • Division 3 – Win Aye, 7th Grade, Henry Moss Middle School, Bowling Green, Ky.

Kentucky’s winners will go on to compete in the National Association for Pupil Transportation (NAPT) National School Bus Safety Poster Contest. The national winner will be chosen during the NAPT Conference and Trade Show and the winning poster will be used to promote next year’s National School Bus Safety Week.

The 2016 Kentucky School Bus Safety Poster Contest opens Sept. 1 and will run until May 1, 2016. The theme is #STOP ON RED!

All Kentucky schools are eligible to hold a poster contest and submit their first place winners to the Pupil Transportation Section of the Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) for statewide competition. KDE will be accepting posters which comply with the National School Bus Safety Poster Contest Rules.

Please contact Elisa Hanley, Pupil Transportation Section Supervisor, (502) 564-5279 ext. 4406, with any questions.