(FRANKFORT, Ky.) – Six Kentucky public high school students have been named to the Next-Generation Student Advisory Council, a group that provides input to Kentucky Commissioner of Education Stephen L. Pruitt.

The newly-selected members serving a one-year term are:

  • Amrit Avula – 10th grade, Bowling Green High School, Bowling Green Independent
  • Roop Patel – 11th grade, Beechwood High School, Beechwood Independent
  • Thomas Patrick – 10th grade, Magoffin County High School
  • Kaeli Riggs – 10th grade, Seneca High School, Jefferson County
  • Wesley Wei – 11th grade, Boyle County High School
  • Lauren Williams – 10th grade, Taylor County High School

The five returning members are:

  • Grayson Ford – 11th grade, Trigg County High School
  • Kenzy Moore – 12th grade, Russell High School, Russell Independent
  • Deanie Pedigo – 12th grade, Barren County High School
  • Emily Salamanca – 12th grade, Henry Clay High School, Fayette County
  • Benjamin West – 12th grade, Central Hardin High School, Hardin County

The purpose of the council is to provide feedback from Kentucky students to the commissioner of education and to engage student leaders in learning by doing. This group will meet with Commissioner Pruitt and Kentucky Department of Education staff, both in person and virtually, to discuss how decisions made at the state level are affecting public school students throughout Kentucky and to provide valuable feedback—from a student perspective—on critical issues impacting Kentucky students and schools. The council’s first meeting will be Nov. 5 in Frankfort.

The Next-Generation Student Council is a year-long program for Kentucky public school students in grades 10-12. The council is comprised of a diverse group of students with ideas and thoughtful insight into how public schools and student achievement can be improved.