2023 Noland-Miller Award graphic

The Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) is accepting nominations for the Kevin M. Noland-Mary Ann Miller Award through Oct. 16.

The award recognizes a Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) employee for significant service to Kentucky’s public schools, and for providing inspiration for education.

Nominations will be accepted until 6 p.m. ET on Oct. 16 through the online 2023 Kevin M. Noland-Mary Ann Miller Award nomination form.

The award is named for Kevin M. Noland, who served as KDE’s deputy commissioner and general counsel and as interim commissioner on four occasions, and Mary Ann Miller, who served KDE as a program consultant, staff assistant, policy adviser and chief of staff. Miller also was the director of the Kentucky Board of Education (KBE).

Miller was the 2013 recipient of the award, previously known as the Kevin M. Noland award. The Kevin M. Noland award was established in 2009 to recognize Noland’s 18 years of service. In 2017, Mary Ann Miller’s name was added to the award to honor her 31 years of service. Miller passed away in May 2021.

A selection committee appointed by the Kentucky commissioner of education will review and rate this year’s nominations based on the following criteria:

  • An individual who:
    • Focuses on the mission for student proficiency;
    • Is an excellent ambassador for the Commonwealth of Kentucky, KDE and Kentucky’s schools;
    • Is knowledgeable and productive; and
    • Has made an impact in one of the following areas through leadership, customer service, teamwork and community service: school districts, community partners or parents and/or co-workers.

Nominations will be accepted from Kentucky educational sources and partners throughout the state, as well as from within KDE.

The winner will receive the award at the KBE’s Dec. 8 meeting.