Educator Spotlight: Abigail Lee

Lee always dreamed of following in the footsteps of her mom, who retired after the 2021-2022 school year and is now a response to intervention teacher at Lewisburg Elementary School (Logan County). Today, Lee is living out her dream as a teacher at LaRue County Middle School (LCMS). 

By |2024-02-06T10:44:13-05:00February 9, 2024|

Walking with dinosaurs

If you've ever watched "Jurassic Park" and thought that a Tyrannosaurus rex would be fun to ride on or that you might actually want to meet a 6-foot tall carnivorous lizard, then Jurassic Quest is the place for you. 

By |2018-08-22T14:57:16-04:00August 28, 2018|

KySTE announces 2014 award winners

The Kentucky Society for Technology in Education (KySTE) recently announced several 2014 award winners for their service in education. Here’s a look at the winners and what KySTE staff says about each of them. •Outstanding Leader: Jana Hickey (Jefferson County school district). Hickey is the eLearning specialist for the district and works to improve the quality of learning through the [...]

By |2014-05-19T11:27:34-04:00May 22, 2014|

Connected Superintendents’ Summit seeks nominations

On Tuesday, Oct. 7 Secretary Duncan and the U.S. Department of Education will welcome a selected group of the nation's 14,000+ superintendents to Washington, D.C., to attend a summit on digital learning. This first ever Connected Superintendents' Summit will provide opportunities for leaders from district, charter, and private schools to share lessons learned with each other and with the Department to [...]

By |2014-05-22T13:31:29-04:00May 22, 2014|

General Assembly, education stakeholders receive praise for dedication to Kentucky students, schools

The Kentucky Education Action Team (KEAT), which includes organizations promoting K-12 education, is praising Gov. Steve Beshear and the 138 members of the General Assembly for increasing support for public schools during the 2014 legislative session. In addition, the KEAT organizations got a pat on the back from two of the state’s top education leaders. KEAT representatives co-signed at letter to [...]

By |2020-10-12T12:26:56-04:00May 8, 2014|

America Achieves Fellowship for Teachers and Principals accepting nominations

The America Achieves Fellowship for Teachers and Principals wants to bring educators together to impact practice, policy and public debate on critical issues in education. This fellowship is designed to leverage participants’ expertise to help other educators improve student outcomes and strengthen leadership and management on a large scale across the education system. Nominations for fellowships are being accepted. The Teacher [...]

By |2014-04-30T14:12:59-04:00May 1, 2014|

KySTE call for board nominations

The Kentucky Society for Technology in Education (KySTE) Executive Council seeks individuals interested in helping Kentucky move forward with technology in education to run for open offices on the KySTE Board. Nominations are open for the following officers and representatives for terms to begin July 1, 2014: vice president (three-year commitment; the holder of this office automatically becomes president, then [...]

By |2013-12-19T09:10:01-05:00December 19, 2013|

Gov. Beshear to chair Southern Regional Education Board

Signaling his commitment to continuing improvements in education for Kentucky and the region, Gov. Steve Beshear accepted chairmanship of the Southern Regional Education Board (SREB). He was elected to lead the 80-member board of governors, legislators and state education leaders as they explore ways to advance the educational performance of students at every level.  The board’s annual meeting was held [...]

By |2013-07-03T10:30:32-04:00July 4, 2013|

Ross and Alexander share Robinson Award

At its meeting in Frankfort Monday, the Kentucky Board of Education presented the annual Dr. Samuel Robinson Award to Gregory Ross, Ed.D., principal of McNabb Elementary in the Paducah Independent school district, and Kern Alexander, Ed.D., excellence professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and former president of Murray State University and Western Kentucky University.

By |2019-02-14T12:11:38-05:00October 11, 2012|

Scientists, doctors or engineers needed

The application deadline for the 2012-13 AAAS Science and Technology Policy Fellowships is Dec. 5. Placement opportunities are available in congressional offices and 15 executive branch agencies. The five fellowship areas offered for September 2012 through August 2013 are congressional; diplomacy, security and development; energy, environment and agriculture; health, education and human services; and Roger Revelle Fellowship in Global Stewardship. [...]

By |2011-11-02T09:25:18-04:00November 3, 2011|
Go to Top