Nine students at The Gatton Academy of Mathematics and Science at Western Kentucky University have received a nationally-competitive National Security Language Initiative for Youth (NSLI-Y) scholarships for immersive, critical language study this summer and next academic year.

The 2020 summer awards are being administered through a five-week NSLI-Y online intensive summer program that will include daily language courses, cultural learning and intercultural understanding.

The winners and their schools are:

  • Cat Appelman, Elizabethtown High School (Elizabethtown Independent)
  • Michael Givens, Green County High School
  • Melanie Grimm, Paul G. Blazer High School (Ashland Independent) 
  • Margot Hare, Rowan County Senior High School
  • Krupa Hegde, Larry A. Ryle High School (Boone County) 
  • Jada Hunter-Hays, LaRue County High School 
  • Sarah Pedersen, Corbin High School (Corbin Independent) 
  • Lauren Taylor, Campbell County High School 
  • Sasha Taylor, Dixie Heights High School (Kenton County)