Tuesday, October 20, 2020

Kentucky bus driver wins international competition

Richard Hall, an employee of Floyd County school district, has been selected as the 2010 National School Transportation Association (NSTA) first place winner in...

New president of KCEE

Kathie Hickey is the newest president for the Kentucky Council on Economic Education (KCEE), the state’s only non-profit organization to provide professional development to...

Messenger named KAEE educator of the year

At the recent annual meeting of the Kentucky Association for Environmental Education (KAEE), Cheryl Messenger was named Environmental Education Individual of 2010.  Messenger is...

Science teacher wins contest

Karen Witemyre, a science teacher at Ockerman Middle School (Boone County) was recently named a winner of the Great Science Teacher Video Contest at...
Belfry Middle School (Pike County) has been selected as a 2010 Blue Ribbon Lighthouse School of Excellence. Photo submitted

Middle school receives national award

Belfry Middle School (Pike County) was recently recognized as a as a 2010 Blue Ribbon Lighthouse School of Excellence by the Blue Ribbon Schools of Excellence, Inc. Belfry Middle is the first public middle school in Kentucky to receive the award. Representatives from the school recently traveled to Orlando to receive the award.

Highlands High School is state We the People champion

Highlands High School (Fort Thomas Independent) has won the state championship in the We the People…The Citizen and the Constitution civic education competition and will compete for the national title from April 30-May 2.

Breakfast week spirit contest winners announced

Three Kentucky school districts were recognized recently for their participation in a Spirit Contest hosted by the Kentucky Department of Education’s Division of School...

Twenty-five Kentucky schools earn Project Lead The Way funding

The Kentucky Department of Education has announced that the review process for the 2011 Project Lead The Way grants has been completed. The awards listed...

KESPT Dream Out Loud winners announced

Nine Kentucky students have each won $1,500 college savings accounts with the Kentucky Education Savings Plan Trust (KESPT) through the KESPT Dream Out Loud...

Franklin County school receives Biofuels for School Grant

The Franklin County Career and Technical Center (FCCTC) is the recipient of the 2011 Kentucky Biofuels for Schools grant program, made possible by the...