(FRANKFORT, Ky.) – The Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) and the Kentucky Department of Education recognized 16 school districts as Districts of Distinction at the board’s Feb. 8 meeting.

The districts earned the recognition under the Unbridled Learning: College and Career Readiness for All accountability system. To qualify, a district must have an overall accountability score at the 95th percentile or higher (based on achievement, gap, growth, college and career readiness, graduation rate and program reviews), meet its current year Annual Measurable Objective, have at least a 95 percent participation rate in statewide assessments and not have a Focus or Priority School. The achievement data is based on K-PREP testing in spring 2016.

The Districts of Distinction for the 2015-16 school year are:

  • Anchorage Independent
  • Ballard County
  • Beechwood Independent
  • Calloway County
  • Carter County
  • Corbin Independent
  • Cumberland County
  • East Bernstadt Independent
  • Floyd County
  • LaRue County
  • Lee County
  • Murray Independent
  • Oldham County
  • Paintsville Independent
  • Rockcastle County
  • Taylor County

In addition, Taylor County was recognized as a High Progress District, which means it is in the top 10 percent of improvement compared to other districts in the state.

Earlier this year, each district received a recognition banner and a letter of commendation, along with a District of Distinction logo that can be used to promote its accomplishment.