Picture of several small children reaching for books on a shelf and smiling.

Thirty districts have been selected to participate in this year’s Summer Boost: Reading and Mathematics Program, a partnership between the Kentucky Department of Education (KDE), the Summer Food Service Program and the Children’s Reading Foundation.

The program will promote family engagement in reading and math by giving away free books and fun items – such as wristbands, bookmarks and magnets – intended to motivate and remind families to read 20 minutes every day. Each of the 30 districts will receive more than 800 books to distribute at their meal sites. Families interested in having their child participate should reach out to their local Summer Food Service Department for more information about meal service sites within their district.

Children may lose up to three months of literacy and numeracy skills during summer break when they are not given an opportunity to practice what they learned during the school year. While it is always important to keep children and students engaged in summer reading and mathematics, the COVID-19 pandemic has brought more visibility to the need for accelerated learning.

Summer Boost coordinators also will direct families to KDE’s online Summer Support webpages, which are available to all Kentucky families. The summer support webpages offer information and resources to encourage students and families to make learning a part of daily summer routines in communities across Kentucky.

“One of our favorite Summer Boost resources is a read aloud series, which I’m honored to be a part of this year. We have a virtual collection of books being read by a variety of Kentuckians, including even a few Kentucky authors and storytellers,” said Commissioner of Education Jason E. Glass.

Other resources available on the webpages include information for families and caregivers, as well as literacy, mathematics and gifted and talented resources.

Districts participating in the Summer Boost: Reading and Mathematics Program include:

  • Adair County
  • Augusta Independent
  • Berea Independent
  • Bowling Green Independent
  • Boyd County
  • Bullitt County
  • Calloway County
  • Carroll County
  • Carter County
  • Caverna Independent
  • Clark County
  • Danville Independent
  • Fairview Independent
  • Floyd County
  • Fulton County
  • Grayson County
  • Harrison County
  • Henderson County
  • Jackson Independent
  • Jefferson County
  • Lee County
  • Lyon County
  • McCracken County
  • Montgomery County
  • Owensboro Independent
  • Robertson County
  • Taylor County
  • Webster County
  • Williamstown Independent
  • Williamsburg Independent