Monday, January 27, 2020

Fayette social worker receives statewide award

Lori Vogel, a child guidance specialist at Leestown Middle School (Fayette County), has been named the 2019 Kentucky School Social Worker of the Year by the Kentucky Association for School Social Work.

Kentucky CTE professionals receive regional honors

Two Kentucky Career and Technical Education professionals were named regional award winners at the Association for Career and Technical Education Region 2 Conference in Raleigh, N.C., Oct. 5.
Elena Kamenetzky

KWLA names Outstanding Teacher, Outstanding New Teacher

Elena Kamenetzky, a Japanese teacher at Eastern High School (Jefferson County), is the 2019 recipient of the Kentucky World Language Association Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award.

Bullitt school earns recognition from Special Olympics

Bullitt East High School (Bullitt County) has been recognized as a Special Olympics Unified Champion School and as a national banner recipient by Special Olympics. Bullitt East is the only Kentucky school in the 2019 class of National Banner Unified Champion Schools and one of three in Kentucky to achieve this recognition.

Madison, Russell, Spencer teachers receive Earle C. Clements Award

Three Kentucky teachers are the winners of the 2019 Earle C. Clements Innovation in Education Awards from the National Archives and the University of Kentucky Libraries Wendell H. Ford Public Policy Research Center.

Muhlenberg custodian named winner of KASA’s Fred Award

Angela Shoemaker, a custodian at Muhlenberg South Middle School (Muhlenberg County), is the winner of the 2019 Fred Award from the Kentucky Association of School Administrators.

Four administrators receive awards from KASA

Four Kentucky educators were recognized by the Kentucky Association of School Administrators at its Annual Leadership Institute last month in Louisville.

Mason instructor a semifinalist for prize for skilled trades teachers

Adam Wallingford, a welding instructor at Mason County School, is among 50 teachers and teacher teams from across the country who have been named as semifinalists for the 2019 Harbor Freight Tools for Schools Prize for Teaching Excellence.

Bullitt teacher named Lego Education Master Educator

Scott Hatfield, the technology teacher, computer applications teacher and school technology coordinator at Eastside Middle School (Bullitt County), has been selected by Lego Education for the 2019 cohort of its U.S. Lego Education Master Education Program.

Fayette transportation director named STAK director of the year

Marcus Dobbs, director of transportation in the Fayette County schools, has been named the 2019 J.T. Coomer Memorial Director of the Year by the Student Transportation Association of Kentucky (STAK).